My Cart

Close

Retinol | Vitamin A | Provitamin A

Retinol, or vitamin A1 or axerophthol, is the most potent form of the essential and fat-soluble vitamin A. The body cannot produce retinol itself but converts vitamin A or provitamin A into retinol. Unfortunately, this process of converting vitamin A into retinol, which is so important for the body and our skin, becomes increasingly difficult with increasing age. The natural aging process itself, as well as exposure to UV rays, depletes the skin of large amounts of vitamin A, leaving it less and less able to produce retinol.

A deficiency of retinol causes connective tissue cells to collapse, the skin loses elasticity and moisture, becomes thinner and wrinkles form. This deficiency also makes the skin weaker and more susceptible to external environmental influences such as UV radiation or fine dust. This in turn leads to irregular pigmentation of the skin and makes it appear older.

Retinol is transformed into vitamin A acid (tretinoin) in the skin and is found in a maximum concentration of 0.3 percent in skin care products approved in Germany. Retinol stimulates collagen production, which has been proven to counteract wrinkles, and alleviates symptoms of UV-damaged skin such as dryness, wrinkles and uneven pigmentation.

The basis for retinol, vitamin A, can only be absorbed by our body from the outside and mainly through food, from animal sources or its precursor, provitamin A, from carotenoid-containing plant foods such as oranges, carrots or spinach..

There are essentially three versions of retinol:

- Retinol- esters, which are found among the ingredients as "Retinyl Palmitate" or "Retinyl Linoleate" and are somewhat less potent, but also milder and more tolerable.
- Pure Retinol which is also indicated in the INCIs as well as
- Tretinoin or also Vitamin A acid which can be extremely irritating and therefore only found in prescription medications.

When using retinol it should be taken into account that the skin becomes more sensitive to the sun due to the accelerated cell formation and renewal. Therefore, retinol preparations should be applied in the evening and temporarily discontinued completely in case of impending stronger sun exposure (vacation in more southern regions, sunbathing etc.). As a precaution, pregnant women and nursing mothers should completely avoid the application of retinol.

REFINE
Sold Out
Quick View

LEAHLANI

Happy Hour Balancing Serum
Regular Price
€39,00
Sale Price
€39,00
Regular Price
Unit Price
per 
Quick View

Arcana Skin

Holocene Intense Repair Face Balm
Regular Price
€94,90
Sale Price
€94,90
Regular Price
Unit Price
per 
Quick View

Odacité California

Ba+S | Eye Contour Serum Baobab Sarsaparilla Serum Concentrate With Rollerball
Regular Price
€48,90
Sale Price
€48,90
Regular Price
€0,00
Unit Price
per 
Karotte, Augen Kontur, Antiaging, Skincare, Feuchtigkeit, Beauty, Dehydration, Naturkosmetik
Quick View

Odacité California

CaR Vital Glow - Serum | concentrate with wild carrot for radiant and firm skin
Regular Price
€59,90
Sale Price
€59,90
Regular Price
€0,00
Unit Price
per 
Quick View

Odacité California

Mo+P | Serum concentrate for extremely dry skin with Moringa & bitter orange
Regular Price
€47,90
Sale Price
€47,90
Regular Price
€0,00
Unit Price
per 
English
English

Retinol | Vitamin A | Provitamin A

Versandkostenfrei ab 50 €

Versandkosten: DE: 2,95€ < 50€ | EU+SCHWEIZ: 5,95€

Shop now

Filtern

    Retinol, oder auch Vitamin A1 bzw. Axerophthol, ist die stärkste Form des essenziellen und fettlöslichen Vitamin A. Der Körper kann Retinol nicht selbst herstellen sondern wandelt Vitamin A oder Provitamin A in Retinol um. Unglücklicherweise fällt ihm dieser, für den Körper und unsere Haut so wichtige Prozess der Umwandlung von Vitamin A in Retinol, mit zunehmendem Alter immer schwerer. Der natürliche Alterungsprozess an sich sowie auch die Einwirkung von UV-Strahlen entziehen der Haut große Mengen an Vitamin A, sodass immer weniger Retinol hergestellt werden kann.

    Ein Mangel an Retinol führt dazu, dass Bindegewebszellen zusammenfallen, die Haut an Spannkraft und Feuchtigkeit verliert, dünner wird und es zur Bildung von Falten kommt. Die Haut ist durch diesen Mangel somit geschwächt auch anfälliger für äußere Umwelteinflüsse, wie UV-Strahlung oder Feinstaub. Dies führt wiederum zu einer unregelmäßigen Pigmentierung der Haut und lässt sie älter erscheinen.

    Retinol wird in der Haut zu Vitamin-A-Säure (Tretinoin) umgewandelt und findet sich in, in Deutschland zugelassenen, Pflegeprodukten in einer maximalen Konzentration von 0,3 Prozent. Retinol regt die Kollagenproduktion an, was nachweislich Faltenbildung entgegenwirkt, und lindert Symptome von UV-geschädigter Haut wie bspw. Trockenheit, Falten und eine ungleichmäßige Pigmentierung.

    Die Basis für Retinol, das Vitamin A, kann unser Körper nur von außen und hauptsächlich über die Nahrung aufnehmen, aus tierischen Quellen oder dessen Vorstufe, das Provitamin A, aus carotinoidhaltigen pflanzlichen Lebensmitteln wie Orangen, Karotten oder Spinat

     

    Im Wesentlichen gibt es drei Versionen von Retinol:

    - Retinol- Ester, die man unter den Inhaltsstoffen als "Retinyl Palmitate" oder "Retinyl Linoleate" findet und die zwar etwas weniger wirkungsvoll, dafürjedoch auch milder und verträglicher sind.
    - Reines Retinol, das auch in den INCIs so angegeben ist  sowie
    - Tretinoin oder auch Vitamin A-Säure, extrem reizend sein kann und daher nur in verschreibungspflichtigen Medikamenten findet

    Bei der Anwendung von Retinol sollte berücksichtigt werden, dass die Haut durch die beschleunigte Zellbildung und -erneuerung sonnenempfindlicher wird. Daher sollten Retinol-Präparate am Abend aufgetragen werden und bei bevorstehender stärkerer Sonneneinstrahlung (Urlaub in südlicheren Gebieten, Sonnenbad etc.) vorübergehend ganz abgesetzt werden. Schwangere und Stillende sollten vorsorglich komplett auf die Anwendung von Retinol verzichten.

    9 Produkte

    9 Produkte